Ragnar Jonasson

author of the Dark Iceland series

Ragnar Jonasson is the award winning author of the international bestselling Dark Iceland series and the Hidden Iceland series. He has sold over 600,000 books worldwide, thereof over 300,000 thousand books in France in just two years. His books are published in 21 languages in over 30 countries and his debut, Snowblind, went to number one in the Amazon Kindle charts shortly after publication in the UK. The book was also a no. 1 Amazon Kindle bestseller in Australia. The second book in the series, Nightblind, also became a no. 1 Amazon Kindle bestseller in Australia. Ragnar is also a no. 1 Crime Fiction Bestseller in France, with Blackout topping the crime fiction charts in France in 2019. Ragnar is the winner of the Mörda Dead Good Reader Award 2016 for Nightblind. His latest book in the UK, The Darkness, was selected as the Sunday Times Crime Novel of the Month and Snowblind was selected by The Independent as one of the best crime novels of 2015. His books have also won praise from publications such as The New York Times and The Washington Post. Ragnar is the co-founder of the Reykjavik international crime writing festival Iceland Noir. From the age of 17, Ragnar translated 14 Agatha Christie novels into Icelandic. Ragnar has appeared on festival panels worldwide, and lives in Reykjavik. Ragnar has a law degree and works as an investment banker in Reykjavik, in addition to teaching law at Reykjavik University.


Fölsk nóta, 2009 - First novel about Ari Thor

Snjóblinda, 2010 - Dark Iceland book no. 1

Myrknætti, 2011 - Dark Iceland book no. 2

Rof, 2012 - Dark Iceland book no. 3

Andköf, 2013 - Dark Iceland book no. 4

Náttblinda, 2014 - Dark Iceland book no. 5

Dimma, 2015 - Hulda book no. 1

Drungi, 2016 - Hulda book no. 2

Mistur, 2017 - Hulda book no. 3

Þorpið, 2018 - standalone novel


Death of a Sunflower, 2014, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, January 2014.

Party of Two, 2014, Guilty Parties - CWA 2014 Anthology edited by Martin Edwards (Seven House)

A Moment by the Sea, 2014, Orendabooks.co.uk

A Letter to Santa, 2015, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, January 2015

A Postcard from Iceland, 2017, Mystery Tour - CWA 2017 Anthology edited by Martin Edwards (Orenda Books)

Don’t Panic, 2019, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, Jan/Feb 2019